Remains of the Day

The old Railroad Salvage is still (barely) standing.  It used to be Rockdale and then Railroad Salvage.

I mostly remember the latter, the predecessor to today’s dollar stores and assorted “Lots”.  Ruby and Choo Choo Vine were all over our televisions, hollering for us to stop by.  We were never quite sure if they were father and daughter or husband and wife.  It didn’t matter, really; we went to poke through piles of stuff to see what oddities they had or to look for some odd-ball item that we couldn’t find anywhere else.  They had everything: piles of giant, heavy rubber boots (sort of like the kind fire fighters wear); sealing goo for canvas; tons of tools; and clothes and household goods of every variety.  It was like a scavenger hunt and, because of its location in an old mill, it has a smell all its own too — a combination of all of the stuff, dusty old brick and wide pine floors.  And, as odd as it may seem, Railroad Salvage put my little village (yes, technically it is one of five villages in a town) on the map.  When I would talk to people from other parts of the state years later, they would say things like, “Oh yeah….Railroad Salvage!” when I told them where I was from.  So, seeing Railroad Salvage clinging to its last few brings, barely hanging on, it makes me a little sad…but, then, I can almost catch a whiff of the floors and I’m glad I had a chance to explore it, to dig through stacks of another era.

About deb

Wandering and wondering - taking it all in -- and increasingly shaking my head. Who are we and how did we get to this here? And, what, where and how next? Putting what I see and think out there in pictures and always looking for other ways, hence, this blog. This blog, like me, is a work in process and still doesn't quite know what it wants to be when it grows up.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, My Photos, Random Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remains of the Day

  1. MaryAnne says:

    What a great description! I love the picture too–it has a very timeless feel to it.

Reply if You're So Inclined

